yoga tips?

Question by lucyfrell93: yoga tips?
does anyone know any yoga stretches, techniches, or tips on yoga?

Best answer:

Answer by pianogal
Start here:

Also look at for Yoga DVDs, where someone will talk through each pose and how to achieve it.

Know better? Leave your own answer in the comments!

Category: Yoga Tips

One Response to “yoga tips?”

  1. I believe the basic yoga stretches are basically good for the health. You want to keep all the joints, especially that of the back, limber and loose. You can find a number of sites online with all kinds of guidance regarding Yoga stretching and breathing exercises. Just look up the term “Yoga” in your favorite search engine such as or Try different word combinations to do your search. And example would be “Yoga Instruction”, or “How do I practice Yoga?”. Make sure to check with your physician before embarking on any fitness or health plan.

    To get into Yoga as a science you need to understand where all these stretching and natural health techniques in Yoga are coming from. Basically these techniques are coming from the Astanga Yoga. Astanga Yoga means “eightfold” and includes yama, niyama, asana, pranayama, pratyahara, dharana, dhyana, and then Samadhi. Samadhi is trance or total enlightenment. The “Asana” is the stretching exercises we see in Hatha-yoga, Raja-yoga, and other yoga systems. “Pranayama” is the breathing exercises we see in some yoga systems. But, “Yama” and “Niyama” are the first steps of yoga often neglected in these other “abbreviated” yoga systems. “Yama” means rejecting that which is unfavorable to our yoga advancement and “Niyama” means accepting that which is favorable for advancement in Yoga.

    [Prabhupada: These are eight items of yoga practice. Yama means controlling the senses; niyama-following the rules and regulation; asana-practicing the sitting posture; pratyahara-controlling the senses from sense enjoyment; dhyana-then thinking of Krsna or Visnu; dharana-fixed up; pranayama-breathing exercise; and samadhi-being absorbed in Krsna consciousness. So this is yoga practice. So if one is in Krsna consciousness from the very beginning, all these eight items are automatically done. One does not require to practice them separately. Yes, go on.]
    Bhagavad Gita 5.26-29 — Lecture — Los Angeles, Feb 12, 1969

    We also see the “Yoga Ladder” in the concept of Astanga Yoga. The Yoga Ladder or “Yoga Rururksa” begins with Karma-yoga, then Jnana-yoga, and then Bhakti-yoga.

    “The process of linking oneself with the Supreme is called yoga, which may be compared to a ladder for attaining the topmost spiritual realization. This ladder begins from the lowest material condition of the living entity and rises up to perfect self-realization in pure spiritual life. According to various elevations, different parts of the ladder are known by different names. But all in all, the complete ladder is called yoga and may be divided into three parts, namely jnana-yoga, dhyana-yoga and bhakti-yoga. The beginning of the ladder is called the yogaruruksa stage, and the highest rung is called yogarudha.”
    Bhagavad Gita As It Is 6.3, Purport by Srila Prabhupada

    The Karma Yoga means turning your work into yoga practice by using as much of earnings as may be possible for your yoga advancement.

    Jnana and Dhyana platform of Yoga means a state of advancement of total mental and intellectual absorption. It is at this stage that one can realize true celibacy.

    Bhakti-yoga begins with the practice of Sadhana and then advances to Krsna-Prema. If we do some research we can see that the essential elements of the lower Yoga systems as well as Dharma can be found in the practice of the Sadhana Bhakti.

    Use the links for more information about Dharma, Yoga and Bhakti. Join the DHARMA free forums and initiatives to sort all this out for greater and deeper understanding as well as to get involved in various projects in pursuance of the highest yogic platforms.